About Us

The Montgomery County Veterans Service Commission is a county agency dedicated to serving Montgomery County veterans. It is not affiliated with the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

In May 1886 after the Civil War, the Ohio Legislature passed the Soldiers Relief Act, establishing the Soldiers Relief Commission, now known as the Veterans Service Commission. The Montgomery County Veterans Service Commission operates under ORC 5901.

The agency provides four distinct services:

  • Assistance when dealing with the VA (U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs) including compensation claims and widows’ benefits.
  • Financial assistance to eligible veterans and family members who have a demonstrated need.
  • Providing Transportation for any medical appointment in Montgomery County for eligible Veterans
  • Providing No-Cost legal consultations for Veterans

The Montgomery County Veterans Service Commission is comprised of five members each appointed by the Montgomery County Common Pleas Court. 

The five members appointed by the Common Pleas Court represent the American Legion, Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW), Disabled American Veterans (DAV),  AMVETS,  and either the Military Order of the Purple Heart, the Vietnam Veterans of America (VVA), or the Korean War Veterans Association.

Our Commissioners:

Jerry Hays, President (DAV)

William Fried, Vice President (VVA)

James Dare, Secretary (American Legion)

John Theobald (AMVETS)

Michael J. Howley (VFW)


Our Staff:

Kimberly Frisco, Executive Director, USAF RET
Dan Semsel, Deputy Director, USAF RET
Bryan Suddith, Administration Officer
Steve Strain, Veterans Legal Counsel, Veteran USMC
Christine Coleman, Veterans Benefits Specialist 
Lisa Lewber, Veterans Service Officer, Veteran USAF
Tammy Savard, Veterans Service Officer, Veteran USAF
Donald North, Veterans Service Officer, Veteran USN
Anna McMinn, Veterans Service Officer, Veteran USAF
Bill Fitzgerald, Veterans Service Officer, Veteran USAF
Charles Strong, Mentor Coordinator, USMC RET
Loren Scott, Transportation Coordinator

Stay Connected!

Stay connected on all most recent information, including calendars, news and events that the Veterans Service Commission offers.

Visit Our Offices

Our offices our open for in-person visits and we are here to serve you. 

We are located at:

627 Edwin C. Moses Blvd., 4th Floor, East Medical Plaza

Dayton, OH 45417

(937) 225-4801

Fax (937) 225-4854

Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Appointment Hours: Monday – Friday: 8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.